PhotonPay Review: Stablecoin-Centric Financial OS After $40M Series C
Review summary
PhotonPay operates a stablecoin-centric Financial OS with API wallets, global payments, and card issuing. The company closed a $40M Series C in late October 2026.
PhotonPay provides a stablecoin-centric Financial Operating System through API-first multi-asset wallets, global payments, FX services, local clearing, and card issuing. Founded in Hong Kong in 2015, the platform bridges stablecoins with traditional fiat rails for corporate treasury and cross-border operations.
Overview and Series C Funding Details
The company closed a $40 million Series C round on or around October 29, 2026, led by Blockchain Capital with participation from SBI Group, IDG Capital, GL Ventures, and Lightspeed Faction. Proceeds will support enhancements to multi-asset wallets, expansion of global card issuing, and development of an agent-ready execution layer that includes Model Context Protocol support for AI-driven workflows.
As of August 2026, PhotonPay reported approximately $65 billion in annualized transaction volume, more than 200,000 business customers across over 200 countries, 34 payment and financial licenses, 16 offices, and roughly 600 employees. It issued 4.4 million cards in the prior twelve months, reflecting 275 percent year-over-year growth. Partnerships include J.P. Morgan, Standard Chartered, and DBS, alongside local rails such as Pix in Brazil and SPEI in Mexico.
Key Features, Pricing, and User Experience
PhotonPay maintains a unified hybrid ledger that integrates stablecoins and fiat. Users can access local collection accounts in 17 markets, receive funds in more than 60 currencies, and route payouts through over 100 corridors, including 74 e-wallets. Approximately 97 percent of payouts settle on the same day or within hours, while 68 percent occur in real time. The platform also offers virtual and physical card issuing with granular spend controls and embedded finance tools.

Reported fees include withdrawal charges between 0.4 and 0.8 percent and card costs of roughly $1.50 for opening plus $0.50 per month. A mid-2026 hands-on test highlighted competitive rates and fast Chinese-language support relative to Payoneer and WorldFirst, though the public pricing page later returned a 404 error and users must request in-app quotes. Trustpilot shows a 2.9 out of 5 rating from a small sample, with complaints centered on account freezes and perceived opacity; Capterra lists no user ratings.
| Feature | PhotonPay | Payoneer | WorldFirst |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annualized volume | $65B (Aug 2026) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Card issuing (12 mo) | 4.4M (+275% YoY) | Limited public data | Limited public data |
| Payout routes | 100+ (74 e-wallets) | Global but fewer e-wallets | Strong Asia focus |
| Stablecoin integration | Core ledger layer | Via partners | Limited |
Security measures include compliance tools for the Travel Rule and sanctions screening, supported by 34 licenses across the Americas, Europe, and Asia. No major public incidents have been reported, though independent verification of license details remains limited. The platform continues to develop MCP-compatible interfaces and policy-based authorization for autonomous AI agents following a May 2026 tokenized-card demo with Mastercard.
Limitations and Final Verdict
PhotonPay’s heavy reliance on company-reported metrics and the absence of widespread independent reviews limit external validation of its scale and reliability. Pricing transparency has been inconsistent, and some users have reported account review delays. The platform’s focus on stablecoin-fiat bridging and upcoming agentic features positions it distinctly from traditional payment processors, yet the lack of detailed public documentation on exact fee schedules and license scopes remains a practical constraint for prospective enterprise users evaluating long-term integration.
Frequently asked questions
What is PhotonPay?
PhotonPay is a Hong Kong-founded fintech that offers a stablecoin-centric Financial Operating System with API wallets, global payments, FX, and card issuing services.
How much did PhotonPay raise in its Series C?
PhotonPay closed a $40 million Series C round in late October 2026, led by Blockchain Capital with follow-on participation from existing and new investors.
Does PhotonPay support stablecoins?
Yes, stablecoins form the core liquidity layer within its hybrid ledger, integrated with fiat rails for treasury, settlement, and spending use cases.
What are common PhotonPay complaints?
User feedback on Trustpilot mentions occasional account freezes and perceived lack of pricing transparency, though sample size remains small.
Comments
No comments yet. Be the first!